Aer Lingus Complaints & Reviews

Aer Lingus Complaints: Have a complaint or review on Aer Lingus airline? Post it on our exclusive Aer Lingus consumer complaint board. Whatever it is, whether complaints on Aer Lingus reservation, booking confirmation, cancellation or reschedule, flight experience, missing or lost baggage, go ahead and describe it in full detail. Your complaints and reviews will not only help Aer Lingus improve its service, but will also inform and enlighten other consumers like you.

Aer Lingus Facts

About Aer Lingus
1) Aer Lingus began operations in the year 1936.
2) The airline is national carrier of Ireland.
3) Presently, Aer Lingus operated flights to some 80 destinations.
4) International destinations served include US, UK, Austria, Belgium, France, Czech Republic, Germany, Greece, Italy, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, among others.
5) Flights are operated from its main hub at Dublin. Other hubs include Belfast, Cork, London Gatwick and Shannon.
6) The frequent flier programme of Aer Lingus is named “Gold Circle Club”.
7) Aer Lingus has codeshare agreements with United, KLM, British Airways, and Jetblue.
8) The airline has a fleet of close to 50 aircraft.
9) As of 2010, the airline employed some 4,000 people.

Aer Lingus Customer Service
1) Aer Lingus is headquartered in Dublin, Ireland.
2) The customer service of Aer Lingus can be reached at 0818 365044 (within Ireland) or +353 818 365 044 (international). If calling from US, dial 1 516 622 4226.
3) To reach the Aer Lingus customer service through email, write to
4) To report lost or missing baggage occurred during your flight with Aer Lingus, call baggage department at 0818 365 888. To reach the baggage department through email, write to
5) For information on Gold Circle Club frequent flier programme or to request for credit of miles, call 0818 365900. To reach the Gold Circle customer service through email, write to or

There are several ways of reaching the Aer Lingus customer service. One is by their customer support telephone helpline, the other is by emailing the airline, and the third is by writing a post to the head office or branch. Even if none of this works, we are here to hear you and forward your valuable comments.

Some of the common complaints consumers can have when flying with Aer Lingus include reschedule or cancellation of existing booking, ticket refunds, lost/missing or damaged baggage, poor customer service, credit of frequent flier miles, or delays in flight timings. If neither calling nor writing helped in addressing your problems, post it on our consumer board here.

Besides posting your complaints on Aer Lingus, the also gives you the opportunity to review the airline. Your valuable reviews and ratings shall judge the service of Aer Lingus overall – whether quality, customer service or value.

, ,

Note: Use the form below to post your complaint, review or compliment. If posting complaints, please be accurate and avoid personal attacks. Do not post a one line comment, but describe it in detail, including the place, name or model number, service rendered etc. Remember you are alone responsible for what you write. Lastly, don't use all caps when writing a complaint or review.

Submit Complaint & Review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

18 Responses to “Aer Lingus Complaints & Reviews”

  • Dr MARTINA CORRY says:

    I wish to complain about the lack of food and beverages on Aer lingus flight EI 0463 on 13 Sep 2015 from Catania to Dublin. The cabin crew on board apologised but indicated it is a regular feature on Sunday flights late in the evening,due to refreshments only loaded on board at the start of the day. Not good enough—Ryanair is now reaping the rewards of treating its customers with more respect!

  • Rebecca o keeffe says:

    I have rang and emailed several times about a voucher I purchased on the 24 of December 2014 for a Christmas gift to my partner, even though I gave email addresses, contact details, terminal no of purchases on my bank statement, there isn’t anyone dealing with this and therefore I have to send this matter to the manager if not solved.. I fly with aerlingus & so does my partner, this is appalling services.. Regards Rebecca.

  • maurice says:

    On Aug 1 2014 I was upgraded to business class for my flight on Aug 5 2014. When i went to get my boarding card nobody could figure how to give me a pass. After 45 minutes they gave me a temporary pass with no baggage check. When i went to board they had my pass at the gate two and a half hours later with my baggage check. When I arrived in SNN my baggage was in NY. I
    was told my baggage would be sent the first thing in the morning. The baggage did not arrive till 11.30 am I had to change my travel plans. Tried to call the baggage tracing office what a joke.

  • Rosetta Codling says:

    I flew Aer Linguis on June 25, 2014. It is usually a good flight. However, my bag disappeared en route from BRS/DUB? The bag was not photographed as I entered US Preclearance. The agents lied saying it was on the plane. I have waited four days now……no word or support. Emails, faxes, phone calls….all….no answer. This is terrible. This is the worst airline for customer service!!!!!

  • A. Udemba says:

    Flew on an Aer Lingus flight from JFK to Dublin (flight 104) on May 10th 2013, the flight attendant crew were rude, discriminatory, unprofessional and racist. Would not recommend this airline

  • Mark O'Brien says:

    My 10 month old son got tonsillitis in Ireland and we were advised by his doctor not to fly him back to the USA until today we were fined $280 for this even though there were empty seats on the plane.
    In the past my wife and I had to pay almost 4 times the price for plane tickets to attend 2 family funerals ,This is Aer Lingus’s version of compassionate airfare and yet again in both instances there were empty seats on the plane.This is wrong!!!!!

  • Michael Oliver says:

    This was my / our first experience of flying with Aer Lingus.

    On the return flight from the Irish Republic – EI814, we were delayed by approx. 30 minutes with the plane finally arriving in Gatwick approx.10;55 instead of 10;25. There was a significant delay, as we then had to train travel to Harlington, Bedfordshire.

    There were noisy wing flap sounds on the aircraft, taking off and landing which were very concerning and which I have not heard on other flights. Like a loud crunching sound as they moved.

    During the plane landing / taxi on the return flight, there was a very high pitched sound on / in the plane like an alarm sounding which continued for approx. 5 minutes. This then sounded again as people got off the plane.

    I think these sounds should be investigated re health & safety / hazards. Regarding the lateness, I am very disappointed. Cheaper competitors don’t have these issues and I did not expect this as I/we paid more for the Aer Lingus service.

    My faith in Aer Lingus’s reputation has been damaged. What can you do to restore this ?
    I would like to hear from an Aer Lingus representative re my concerns.

  • Cathy Pettersen says:

    My husband and I booked a trip on AL from Seattle to Dublin. As it turned out, my Uncle was going to be on business in Seattle returning to Dublin on the 23rd so we changed our flight in order to travel together. I contacted Expedia and they warned me we would have to pay a penalty ($150 each) plus whatever extra fare was due. The change in dates actually dropped the cost of each ticket by $75.00. Low and behold, AL doesn’t REFUND for a cheaper ticket, they just CHARGE for a more expensive one. Go ahead AL, keep our $150.00. It appears from what I’ve read you need it more than we do.

  • Dr. Gregory F. T. Winn says:

    It has been a very rare event traveling internationally that I have encountered the perfect storm of incompetence and destruction, but Aer Lingus and Jet Blue have more than met these criteria.

    It was a simple trip, Washington D.C. to Boston, to Dublin, and back to Washington D.C. through New York (IAD) two weeks later. I have travelled to 57 nations on six continents but this tops them all. In summary:

     With flights delayed June 22nd across the East Coast that afternoon for three or more hours by storms and horrendous weather, you did not wait one minute for me to get on my Boston connecting flight to Dublin. (Jet Blue 688 and Aer Lingus 138). I had left 4.5 hours between flights just in case and it came down to the last minute!

     Returning from Dublin, you failed to photograph my second bag placing me essentially in a holding cell until my bags could be found only a minute or two before the flight’s departure to NYC (EI 0105). I arrived and checked into Aer Lingus just shy of 3.0 hours before the flight – just in case and again met a full scale crisis of ineptitude.

     You destroyed my golf bag, ripped it apart – beyond repair on the return flight – (value appx. $85.00).

     You destroyed the contents of my second bag, damaging clothes and electrical equipment including a camera and electrical converter. I paid $60.00 extra for this bag’s shipment.

    Now for some specifics: On the 22nd of June, I boarded Jet Blue flight 688 for Boston in plenty of time for its scheduled takeoff at 02:45 p.m. (confirmation #UGAMA). Thunder and hail storms swept the East Coast and we sat on the plane for three hours waiting to see if we would ever takeoff. We did not take off until appx. 7:10 arriving in Boston around 08:20. I am under medical treatment for an infected toe, and called ahead for wheel chair assistance.

    You, Jet Blue ad Aer Lingus both knew several connecting flights were delayed, but you did nothing to consider the concerns of others. Fortunately for me, I had an Ethiopian chair assistant and we ran from terminal to terminal, and through all the security and got to the gate as you were closing it….right on time and with no consideration for me or others. I made it but only because I was in a wheelchair and I paid the fellow $20 to get me there. I was the last person on the plane that took off timely (Aer Lingus flight 138) at 08:50 pm for Dublin. Total for this flight (plus insurance – Allianz Policy EUSP2031856061 for $80.00) – Appx $780.00

    What happened to communication between your two airlines, what happened to others who would have to wait a day for a next flight because of your lack of customer service?

    Coming back was worse, much worse. (Flight confirmation BSYKIE) I had two bags going both ways. I paid a fee of $60.00 for my second personal bag – each way, my golf bag as my first bag. (receipt attached).

    You failed to photograph both bags. I arrived for check in at 07:50 for a 10:45 flight (EI0105 – this flight Aer Lingus cost $769.70 for a one way ticket because I was not sure if or when I could go or come back from Ireland for health reasons.)
    So my total cost for this incredible trip was $780 plus $60 plus $769 plus $60 or $1,669 – with hell to pay.

    My un-photographed for security missing bag had my medicines in it. I am a Cancer patient as well as having an infected toe. When time passed and it became clear my medicine was missing, I began to lose my emotions. Finally, both bags appeared, and I was again either the last person or next to last person to take off on this flight…not knowing if the bags I had just seen would be placed on the flight.

    Well, the good news is they were placed on the flight, the bad was the golf bag was totally destroyed, and the inner contents of my personal bag (some salts in a strong protective plastic container) were crushed with total damage to an electrical converter and damage to my Kodak digital camera that I am having repaired.

    When I finally saw my two bags at the “holding cell” for security in Dublin, the security agent then gave me the wrong passport and tickets. I left my valise in the holding cell, amidst the confusion and last minute desire to make the flight. I remembered it, and that I was missing a follow-on flight boarding pass, and was told “go speak to the airlines.”

    I went back to the holding cell area, found my valise, and found both the correct passport and both boarding passes. U.S. Customs was to blame for this mix-up but you caused the problem.

    This was a mess, and the mess was caused by Jet Blue and more immediately Aer Lingus. You did nothing on the flight going to insure that I would make it and worse yet on the flight home, and then put me in the middle seat on an aisle in the back that does not recline. Yes, there was a nice chicken and rice dinner and I truly love Ireland. I imagine you would like it if everyone does.

    Perhaps you may wish to share this letter with your colleagues, or your Board of Directors. Regardless of how you address my concerns these are important issues for all travelers in the future on Jet Blue and Aer Lingus.

    What shall you do to make it right?

  • martin says:

    I booked return flights to Paris a few months back as a treat for myself and my pregnant partner. Little did we know then that our baby was going to be born with a very serious and rare heart condition called hlhs. She needs a series of operations and maybe a transplant and her second operation is due around the time we are due to fly, therefore leaving us unable to fly. Only to Aer Lingus it is not fair to cancel our flights and get a refund or at the very least a voucher to the same value. If I cancel, I will get 35 euro back, less than a tenth of what I paid and to postpone it will cost more than what I’ve paid originally.
    I wouldnt mind if they took 35 euro for costs but to charge me nearly 400 to cancel when obviously I have enough on my plate with a very sick child at home is disgusting. I hope you are proud of yourselves!

  • Joseph Bryan says:

    I booked a return flight this morning for myself and my wife to Dublin from Blackpool and realised approximately one hour later that I had given the wrong dates.
    I then rebooked the flights immediately but was charged an additional £140.00 just over £5.00 less than the original cost of the flight. The booking was done on the internet.
    How can you possibly justify such a charge?

  • Roisin flanagan says:

    my husband myself and our 2 children flew with Aer Lingus to Lanzaroti, Monday 25 June (flight no 28tylj). The flight was perfect but we had to suddenly reschedule as my sister cathy was going to die. She had been sick but had been given a lot more time. The next morning i tried to get flights home, we were quoted 540 euro for 4 tickets so i called home to tell them i was coming. When i called back with my credit card i was told that the flights were incorrectly quoted and we had to pay almost double that price so we didnt have enough money my husband had to call home and get his work partner to get my husband’s work credit card to pay. I am disgustd with Aer Lingus.. the person who quoted me should have honoured his first quote..we were told the insurance would cover all or some of the cost and they didnt cover any of it so we got the 20 40 flight on friday 28tylj and my poor sister passed away at 11: 20 that evening at James Hospital in the victor singe ward. I didnt even make it back to see her. I feel we should be reimbursed. It is not fair at all.

  • siobhan sargent says:

    My daughter was going to Camp America on sat 9th June 2012, she was flying from Belfast international to Heathrow and then changing terminals to fly on to Washington. When arriving at the check in Belfast, she was told her bag was too heavy, it was 23kg, the instructions from Camp America said she was allowed 23kg, the very rude and bad mannered woman on the check in desk said its too heavy you need to take stuff out. These instructions were followed, i went over to assist my daughter, i found the woman to be most unfriendly, disinterested and unhelpful, whereas the lady on the other check in desk was very pleasant. it is no wonder the tourist industry in the north if Ireland is the poor with people with an attitude working in the airports. we were very annoyed by the treatment my daughter got in the airport just not good enough very poor customer relation skills, if she doesn’t enjoy her work then change jobs.

  • Niall Greenan says:

    Myself and seven golfing friends travelled from Belfast to Malaga on Aer Lingus Airbus 319 recently and were disgusted with the lack of seat leg room. When we complained we were told that extra legroom was available at extra cost. When we booked our flights we expected to have seats that we could sit in with reasonable comfort. We agree that from now on our trips will be with Easyjet.

  • Cass Vitale says:

    Aer Lingus charged more than it would have cost to book a seat for a person for my granddaughter’s luggage. I am stuck with a bill for $437.98 for excess luggage weight billed on 4/27/2012 for a flight from Rome to Dublin. The ticket was 156.00 for the flight. This is abuse and should not be tolerated by consumers. AL response to me was that was policy. I won’t ever fly them again. The charge was for a study abroad student’s books that were in her suitcase. My granddaughter learned a valuable lesson and I hope one day she has the money to repay me. In the mean time AL is ripping off people with these fees that are due at the airport. I recommend a different airline. So for all you AMERICANS it is 15 euro (over 20 dollars) per pound. Fly AMERICAN AIRLINES. Their fee is only $70.00 not $437.98 for the same suitcase.

  • Linda says:

    April 6,2023 flight 111. I arrived at jfk at 2;00 pm. I requested a wheel. The chair that was sent was a smaller chair. I am a large woman and a large chair was requested. Appears a large chair was sent but went to someone else. One of the people with the chair said i had to take the small one. Back in october 2008, the same thing happened, i took the small chair and was burned by the wheel and received a good 4 inch blister on my left upper leg. This time i refused the chair. Seems no one want to get to proper chair, even the captain and co captain said they where going to report the problem.. This can go up against the ada, and i don’t think aer lingus would like it. I don’t like doing this, but enough it enough. My husband and i will be flying back and forth and will be using aer lingus alot or some other airline. The ref# of the first problem is 72160.

  • shay says:

    Why you do not allow fliers to bring skateboards as hand luggage?

  • d o says:

    during my transatlantic flight with aer lingus the temperature in the cabin was far too cold to be comfortable. most passengers were wearing their winter coats. I left the flight with a severe cold and dehydrated (the flight attendants offered only one round of beverages).

    when the same occurred on my way back, i asked the cabin attendants to do something about it. However, they were completely indifferent, unhelpful and generally, in comparison to the standards of most other airlines, extremely rude. I was sick for two days after i returned home despite spending the whole flight in scarf & winter coat.

    I fly over 100.000 miles a year and have seen quite a bit, but i have to say aer lingus is really the worst i have experienced so far ( to be fair, i guess there might be still worse airlines somewhere in world, i.e. in central asia or on the african continent)