Sort By

  1. 5.0

    I travelled from Fort St. John to Kamloops. Our flight was delayed in Calgary to Kamloops for over 3 hours. I was very upset when the pilot crew showed up and was advised we had to wait so they could go for dinner. Then once on plane we were delayed due to no staff to push us off.

    I was very upset as I was meeting my husband to go on our wedding anniversary date. Due to the lateness of our flight we had to make other plans.

    Very upset customer.

  2. 5.0

    Having travelled from London to Orlando via Toronto, returning the same route, the baggage handlers managed to crush the aluminium frame of my new suit case and cause additional damage to the carcase, along with damage to a second case which is inconsistent with normal handling.

    Having tried to contact Westjet using various email address’s, my attempts failed and when looking for contact details, unless you wish to use social media; which I don’t, it is almost impossible to easily find contact details, which I guess is about right as no one wants to receive complaints.

    Additionally, have checked the Westjet website before booking our flights it clearly indicated that the flight across the Atlantic would have seat back TV’s, which it didn’t (both ways) and even the app constantly failed and access was very intermittent.

    All in all, disappointed at my first Westjet experience and am still trying to pursue a complaint for the damage to my suit cases; which had been purchased new for the trip, perhaps no the best thing to have done.

  3. 5.0

    I flew to Bermuda with a suitcase of equipment for a contract job I was to do but unfortunately my luggage/equipment was tagged with a completely different person’s name and was sent to their destination in ARUBA!
    3 weeks later my luggage arrived in Bermuda after a load of dramatic incidents. I spent a week there doing nothing while assuming my bags would be there in 3-4 days. WestJet said they would pay for accommodation for the week but I had to pay and they would reimburse. Well its been almost 2 months now and I have not heard a word even after submitting my invoices. I travel every 3 weeks to Bermuda but am now flying with Air Canada unfortunately as I don’t feel I should give WestJet another penny!!!!!!

  4. 5.0

    On August 18/16 on flight 439 from Toronto to Edmonton (leaving 320pm arriving Edmonton 530 pm) I was very unhappy with the baggage dept. I had bought a brand new suitcase and although it was not ripped , it had a mark on it. If you have staff not interested in their job, find an efficient team. Several people on that flight were upset with the baggage handling. I was very happy with everything else. The trip was very nice and all the staff were great. I always go out of my way to fly WestJet , and I am always pleased with the service. But please address the baggage handlers as they are giving you a bad name, they may need more training or more common sense. I always travel WestJet and will continue to do so, please look into this problem.

  5. 5.0

    I booked my flight on line for myself, my daughter and grand-daughter. When it came to booking our seats, I got mine and my daughters but there was nothing to click on for infant. The only option was lap held for infants. After going to see about where to put her car seat, I came across a section that said if you want to book a seat for your infant to call the 1-888 #. I did so and talked to a representative and explained that I wanted to purchase a seat for my grand-daughter. I gave her my conformation # for the flight. She apologized that the web site does not clarify better on seats for infants, and said I could cancel my flight, rebook at a higher cost and then be able to get a seat as well for my grand-daughter. I think this is ridiculous as I should’ve been able to have this option to book a seat for her as well when I originally booked my flight. You need to update your web site, to make this option there for getting a seat for infants. My grand-daughter is 4 months old and should be in her car seat strapped in for take off and landing, not being held for the entire flight.

  6. 5.0

    I booked a WestJet ticket from Calgary to Toronto, for CAD $531.46, dated May 19 – 23rd 2016. I informed a customer service representative in the call center that I was unable to be on the flight due to an inevitable personal matter. I tried explaining to the representative that I was forced to move to a different province to be with my family, but the agent rudely interrupted and reminded me that the reason for missing the flight is irrelevant. I asked for a full refund, pleaded for a fraction of the refund, however my actions were futile. The representative explained it is my responsibility to call WestJet if I was unable to attend the flight, which I unfortunately did not know nor do. I also begged to have the amount charged for taxes refunded, and abruptly, the representative replied with an emphatic no.

  7. 5.0

    We booked a flight and paid in full in February 2016 to fly from Victoria to Honolulu Direct as we always do at Xmas. This is August and our travel agent tells us we have to fly to Vancouver first. Our flight leaving Victoria at 6..15am which means we must wake at 2.30am to get to airport. On return also we have to stay in Vancouver overnight. Sure, we cancelled and now we got the refund. But 6 months it took for the refund? What about the money on interest Westjet made for the 6 months? We is our interest?

  8. 5.0

    I booked return flights from Kelowna to Vegas this coming Nov. The original flights were
    Non-Stop between Kelowna and Vegas both ways. Now on our return, we have to first
    fly to Calgary then Kelowna. I chose these flights purposely for direct flights. I’m not happy
    at all with the change.

  9. 2.0

    I recently travelled from Grand Cayman to Winnipeg and back (via Toronto). The main reason I use Westjet are the tvs. The 4 hour flight from Cayman to Toronto (and vise versa) was fully packed, and my tv screen didn’t work! First time no sound just picture, other way sound and no screen images! It was very frustrating! And because it was a full flight the flight attendants could not move me anywhere. I didn’t have a book or anything to occupy my time and it made for an uncomfortable flight. I was very disappointed! I can see it happening one way, but both ways!!! Come on!!! This will make me think twice before using westjet again.

  10. 5.0

    I am letting you know this though it has do with the airport security but I think you should be aware of this situation. On July the 12th at 3:00pm I flew WestJet from Toronto Pearson to Vancouver and when I arrived there was no lock on my suitcase and a bottle of 100ML cologne worth $90 missing from my suitcase, the box was however still there, and also the zip on my makeup bag was unzipped. My friend that I travelled with said her elastic rope was missing from suitcase and the contents moved. This is a complaint when we returned on July 20th flight at 12:15pm to Toronto. I was asked to lift my suitcase on to weigh scale by a young check in clerk and my friend was not there as she was at another check in. I was struggling to lift my bag. If this is standard practise for older passengers then what about those who have disabilities? The service staff needs to be trained and more attention given to baggages.

  11. 5.0

    On March 22 2016 I checked in my one bag with Westjet in Calgary. They were a full flight that day and I didn’t think my one bag would
    fit anywhere. As it turned out I was right. When I got home, went to retrieve my GPS, but it was not in my bag anymore along with the attachments.
    So I contacted Westjet Baggage Claims, it took a few weeks even for me to get everything they asked for. They agreed to refund me only for the GPS with proof of purchase. I had to out of my own pocket buy another GPS…OMG and all the extras. I’m not impressed with how one is treated once they have lost items out of my own bag in the care of Westjet bag handlers. Not impressed. I’ve lost out on a few driving jobs just because I did not have a proper GPS. The cell phone does not really substitute to drive legal in a truck. It’s now July 23 2016 and was promised months ago for my refund. Guess what…I still do not have my promised money. This email was from June 16, 2016, but they told me that they didn’t read my email right after they asked me what refund I would prefer.
    It took another whole week…that is how they treat claims. Why? LZWS000567029 this is how I am known by, not as a person that has been violated.

  12. 5.0

    We recently flew WestJet on “ws 23 7th July 1pm”. We were upset during the flight due to the excessive noise created by 6 passengers who were clearly drunk, we complained about the noise to the stewardess and they were spoken to numerous times but nothing really happened, in fact one stewardess actively seemed to encourage them during this time flirting with them and seemed to be trying to protect them from any issues. They continued this almost through the entire flight they also at one point were quite threatening towards other passengers, we were quite distressed. Why were these people allowed to continue drinking until nearly 3/4s of the way through the flight, why was nothing done . This flight made me and my wife concerned for our safety on the flight.

  13. 1.0

    July 18, 2016 my flight was cancelled from Boston to Toronto. Absolutely no compensation offered. Reason given was weather and air traffic control. The weather was good in Toronto. Flight rescheduled for next day. Had to stay in a very low end cheap hotel that was extremely over priced as there was a conference going on in the city and hotel pricing sky rocketed plus the hotel was 20 mins from airport…expensive transportation. My first time to Boston was severely tainted by this very unexpected expensive experience. I will never fly Westjet again. I personally feel Westjet didn’t do enough to for their guests. I’m now sitting in the airport waiting for my rescheduled flight and hear over a PA that a Delta flight is delayed, they are being offered free sandwiches. We got absolutely nothing for this trip, cost me an additional $500 and my daughter lost a day of work which could cost her her job. Worst experience of my life.

  14. 1.0

    This is the reason I don’t fly with west jet. I booked a college for work flight. We both were flying to Fort St John. I had to book it on his corporate card and my corporate card. His flight was $596.00 and 2 mins later mine was $665.00. Contacted help desk and the lady said that is how it works and that she can’t help or make changes. Not very helpful at all.

    This is the reason our company never uses Westjet I personally have over 600K air miles with Air Canada, 400K with Lufthansa and 300k with Air France. They don’t charge a guy for everything and even would honour the same bill as above. Lucky as this will be the last time I will ever use your services and the same will go with the other 15 people that work for me.

  15. 5.0

    My complaint was also brought up to a guest manager Mr Jacky in Vancouver airport. I arrived 1.5 hrs in advance to fly to Winnipeg for a reserved family gathering and fishing lodge trip. There was a very big line up at the check in counter as there were very few employees available. I have had previous problems, bad experiences with West Jet and fly a lot with you. Because of the long delay from shortage of employees i missed my flight and was rescheduled with another non direct flight and this caused a lot of missed plans, reservations and created a lot of family anxiety in which i was very upset.

  16. 1.0

    Recently, my family travelled from Calgary to London Gatwick on your new international route. I am writing to share our unpleasant and disappointing experience. I am decidedly unhappy in the decisions made by your airline to try and deceive passengers like myself.

    To start, when my 4 family members and I booked our flights we researched the type of plane we would be on and were satisfied with the new, state of the art, 767 being promoted. This is not the plane we eventually flew on and as we now know, this was part of the deception to lure people onto booking with you. At boarding we were even told by a check-in agent that the new model had equipment failure requiring an older plane being put into usage. Highly unlikely this was true considering upon return 2 weeks later then 3 weeks later our return flights were both in older planes.
    Instead of state of the art we were flown on a very old broken down 767 with,
    – Broken seat trays
    – Broken speaker plug ins
    – Seat pockets hanging off
    – Ripped seat covers
    – Seats with no cushion left from age
    – Seat recliners not working
    – During our return flight washrooms were not maintained and repeatedly out of toilet paper and towels

    This is just the beginning of my complaints as we also experienced further deception from all Westjet promotions stating availability of Westjet Connect. I, and my daughter, each spoke separately to a Westjet agent who stated this would be available to us yet, it was not. Meaning, we did not have our own entertainment for our 8 & 9 hour flights because we understood it would be available. But, we had
    – No tablets available for private movie viewing, not on this plane
    – Viewing screens in the ceiling along the centre of the plane so fuzzy they were unwatchable
    – Movie sound tracks that didn’t match the film track
    – No WiFi/Internet access throughout the flights as stated from your agents and your ‘Edibles and Entertainment’ brochures aboard flights

    I would also like to point out my final complaint which is in regards to my 81 year old mother being removed from the wheel chair I ordered ahead of time and forced to walk no less than 1000 yards down difficult inclines to get to the plane gate then even further to get to the plane. We were asked at check-in if she could climb stairs to the plane which she could, slowly. But, there were no stairs just inclines which are extremely difficult for her footing and cane usage. When I left my mother to be taken by Westjet staff to the plane this is not how I expected she would be treated. She has a number of health problems and this was not something that should have been forced upon her.

    I have flown my family and myself by Westjet many times over the years and have been happy to support your airline. But, if this is how you are going to treat customers on international flights this will be our first and last trip with Westjet. To add to our unhappy trip I will also mention the 4 changes in departure times from booking to leaving, the 1.5 hour late departure due to flight plan changes and the 2.5 hour wait on the tarmac due to lightning (the only reasonable delay).

  17. 5.0

    I flew Westjet May 15 2016 flight was in the evening and recently June 29, 2016, both my experiences are bad. I had given a complaint to the flight attendant about the rude staff I encountered. Just recently June 29 with my flight ws437, I ask for water because I was very thirsty and the seat belt was off and the attendant “Phong” chided me saying “you have to wait until we are ready serving drinks” and walks away. I was only asking water…when he was ready serving drinks I ask for 2 glasses, for me and my husband and he gives me that face, looks like he don’t want to give water too…I am running a furniture retail store and I know the importance of customer service. Here the fact is this happened to me twice and with the same attendant. This bothers me a lot and especially how he treats people.

  18. 1.0

    I missed my flight to Vancouver by my own folly, I didn’t hear the announcement of gate changing and I apologize, accept the flight change and change fee. I was very humble and polite.

    What I don’t appreciate is the attitude of attendees, they were all acting like I am unreasonable and accusing them when I was just simply accepting the fact I missed my flight because of my mistake. I did not blame anyone but myself, I didn’t fight to be on the fight, I respectfully asked for a solution and take it. I deserve to be treated respectfully too, not to be reprimanded like a child, and I don’t know what I have done to deserve eye rolling.

    I hope Westjet could simply take more care on the guest service, because American and Canadian airlines are quite known for rude and unprofessional services. And as someone also in hospitality industry I feel very sorry for you.

  19. 5.0

    June 20, 2016

    Upon arrival at gate 72 for WestJet 0160 flight from Edmonton to Calgary, the flight was delayed 49 minutes to depart at 12:19. I was told to be at the gate by 12:10. I arrived at 12:05 and the plane was there, no gate attendants and the jet way would not be pushed back for another 6 minutes. Needless to say they admitted to having NOT paged me by name, eventhough I was only 2 gates away.

    I was offered another flight on Air Canada, which I accepted. Then 45 minutes later was told they could not do it (by the WestJet mgr who offered AC in the first place). I was provided a $15 food voucher whichwas supposed to make me feel better.

    I am now waiting to board a flight 4 hours after the original flight. And they are delaying departure because they are waiting for 27 people to transfer from an inbound flight.

    The fiasco continues and I am still in the departure area outside gate 49F

    Now scheduled on WestJet flight 3397

  20. 1.0

    I consider myself well traveled having visited over 40 countries and flown with many different airlines. However, West Jet’s customer service has to be the worst I have ever experienced. We flew to Gatwick via Toronto in partnership with Delta. West Jet 4 and supposedly West Jet 6336 were our flight #’s.
    A over 2 hour delay from Gatwick meant we were not going to make our connection. The dismissive, couldn’t care less attitude of the West Jet desk was beyond reproach. Pretty much it was left up to me to change my flight via telephone with a Delta rep. She could do nothing as West Jet had the booking and she could not change it.
    Arriving in Toronto we were then almost too late for the last flight to Atl. The WJ person passed it off to a Delta rep and between them basically said too bad you’re not going to make it
    even though we had over an hour to connect. They claimed we had not made a change to our flight even though we had a confirmation code HYODQ4. After much heated discussion, we got on the flight but then our bags would not scan through due to mis matched codes . They were clueless. Eventually after wasting a lot of time and appearing totally incompetent they over rode the system . This however was just another comedy of errors as customs could not link our bags to us due to the wrong codes. We were dismissed to a room to watch a screen as we’d been given a code 2 status. With less than 10 mins to take off we spoke to the passport control who was the only helpful person so far and he connected our bags to us. We made the flight with minus 2 mins to take off. In Atl. only 1 bag from a party of 4 actually made it off the flight. This was the final straw. I have never been so disappointed and disgusted with an airlines customer service in my life. Be assured I will never fly with WJ again and will spread the word to all my fellow travelers. As far as I am concerned the new name needs to be WORST JET.

  21. 5.0

    On our flight from Fort St John BC to Vancouver BC (flight 3203) June 9, 2016 we found the plane to be filthy.

    We fly exclusively with WestJet and found it very disturbing that a basically brand new plane could look so bad.

    I got wet towels from attendant and washed table both inside and outside, down the pocket and my seat. These places were covered in a red sticky substance. The attendant thought maybe red wine.

    The rest of the plane as we looked around was just as bad with paper chips etc all over the floor.

    As I left the plane I mentioned that this plane needs a full cleaning.

    As I say we travel Westjet and I know people can be messy and is not the attendant’s job to keep it fully plane but this one definitely needed it.

  22. 5.0

    I travelled June 11th, 2016 on WS214, scheduled to depart at 01:00 am.

    I am called to travel every week for my work. I can assure you that I WILL NEVER FLY WESTJET AIRLINES AGAIN, AND WILL NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE, EITHER.

    In all the years I have travelled, and the many times I have been tolerant of WS staff, both at counters and flight attendants with their lack of professionalism, rudeness and total disregard towards their passengers.

    1 – Flight WS214 Calgary to Montreal – I upgrade so that I can have a little rest and quiet time on the re-eye flight, as I had been travelling all week, and been up with no sleep for near 24hrs.

    2 – Seated in seat 1F, right before take-off, I see the leading flight attendant closing the door, while talking to the other flight attendant, not paying attention to the task she was currently doing (closing aircraft door). Then to notice the second flight attendant supposedly doing cross-check, passing her hands on the door handles, but not whatsoever doing a visual inspection to the door – #1 – That, for a seated passenger to see, is quite scary and instills quite an insecurity feeling as to the possibilities that this door might not have been closed shut in a safely manner, and according to safety procedures.

    3 – upon take off, I see the flight attendant (I am seated in seat 1F and can clearly witness) is leaning, with her whole arm resting on the aircraft door handle – Do I feel safe??? Absolutely not!!!!

    4 – 15 minutes into the flight, seat belt sign is still on, there is much turbulence – I try to sleep, but the two flight attendants seated in front are ”shooting the shit” – talking loud, laughing and showing photos on their cell phones….I have to wave at them a couple of times, as they could not hear me, when finally one the flight attendants asked what was the problem. Exasperated I told them that we could hear their whole conversation, that this is a re-eye flight, and we are trying to sleep. No apologies from either one of the two flight attendants.

    5 – 30 minutes into the flight, beverages were distributed. When the two flight attendants stop by my seat, without saying anything, one of them bluntly hands me ear-plugs (!!!??? WTF I say to myself). I tell the flight attendant who hands me the ear-plus that I do not need them – she says: ”well, you want to sleep, don’t you!” …..If travelling on WestJet was offered no charge, the flight attendant would have every right to dictate to me what to do, but considering that my ticket fee + the upgrade I paid $100.00, ensuring continuing business for WestJet – hence ensuring HER salary, I can honestly say to WestJet management that maybe they should review their training course to their staff, and teach them that customers are everything.

    To witness flight attendants being totally unprofessional, and oblivious to the passengers, is to me unacceptable.

    I will never fly WestJet, ever again.

  23. 5.0

    I traveled in from Regina on the 1 June flight 3263 to Grande prairie. When I checked in, my bag pulled fine. When I arrived, one of the wheels did not turn. I didn’t report it at the time as our flight was already a hour late, and it was midnight. When I checked in on the 7 Jun flight 3264, they made a note on my file in Grande prairie, and said to report to baggage when I got into Regina. When I did, they did not bother to check my file, and gave no help or suggestions. I was made to feel as though I was lying, and was very disappointed at the lack of help. I was not going to report this, but I was a airline employee myself many years ago, and would of never handled it the way those agents did.

Write a complaint

Your Rating